Weekly occurring posts: are you for or against this?

Hi Everyone! I am a new Community Manager and I am trying out a couple of recurring posts to give everyone something to look forward to each week, to have a low entry barrier for those who are chat-shy, and hopefully to help people get to know one another.

Questions to you all: have you all implemented recurring posts? Has it worked out? What are some types that are successful? If you are against recurring posts, please share your thoughts!

2 Likes

I use recurring reminders (in my personal, productivity system) that prompt me to do thing… write an occasional ‘view from my chair’, post a provocative question, … that works well for me.

1 Like

I like them,
Trying to create a ritual is always a good thing and this is the first step, I believe. Topics are always very very specific to your type of community and your members’ preferences. Test some ideas.

1 Like

I used to be very much in favour of this. I think I advocated for it quite strongly in my first book.

My experience however is people enjoy it at first for the novelty factor - but ultimately it depends upon whether members find a lot of value in the content. In many cases, the answer is no (member interviews are a good example of this).

Another example is ‘working out loud’ discussions which are really popular at first but the popularity soon dies (often because people are working on the same things each week).

So I’m broadly against it, but there are certainly exceptions.

1 Like

I agree with RIch…often members go “blind” to recurring posts, because it starts to feel like “I’ve seen this already.” I have a colleague who was doing a weekly wrapup post with the same subject line each week, and I steered her away from that. Better to highlight one key item that’s interesting in the subject, than to post “Weekly Roundup August 2.”

1 Like

Ahhh! I was using your first book as my guide! Guess I need to get the second one then, huh? :wink: