Wecome Message Feedback/Optimization

(David Silvernail) #1

@richard_millington asked me to post this as a separate topic.

What’s your Welcome Message?
How do we optimize our Welcome Messages to get the best results?
How do we measure the effectiveness of our welcome messages?

I’ll post my welcome message below. I’ve been running it for the past three months in it’s current form.
I’ll post how I went about crafting my message.

For measurement, I’m taking the last three months and applying the following formula

((Users who followed action prompt in message + Users who responded directly to the welcome message) - duplicates) / total number of new users = welcome message engagement percentage

Onboarding New Members - Recommended Practice
So, what are you working on? Part 1
(David Silvernail) #2

Here’s my welcome message

Dear USER,

Thank you for joining us at ControlBooth! We are a tight-knit community that gets what you do. We love technical theatre and live entertainment technology. Yeah, we admit it, we love to go to concerts and spend as much time looking at the rig as we do paying attention to the band. Trust me, you’re in good company.

So, dive right in and introduce yourself. Head over to the New Member Board and start a new thread by hitting the New Thread button in the top right part of the screen above the list of topics. Let us know what you love about this industry, how you got into it, and what you are working on now!

We’ll see you inside.

dvsDave,
ControlBooth

(If you have any questions, just hit reply and it will start a conversation with ControlBooth’s Staff)

I go to conventions for the technical theatre industry (LDI and USITT) and we have a user meetup towards the end of each convention. I always ask what the ControlBooth community means to them. This March, one of the guys there said it simply, “You guys just get it I know you guys won’t bat an eye at my crazy schedule and odd requests, because you all have them too!”