Using user persona work, journey mapping, surveying and other methods to understand community

(Jess Williams) #1

Hey everyone,

I’m Jess and I’ve been building communities and working with content for about 20 years now. Both of the main communities I worked with were niche, primarily communicating via forums and events. I had the pleasure of running a community advisory board and spent the last couple of years really digging into user persona work, journey mapping, surveying and other methods of truly understanding member needs of a community with 1 million users. It was some of the most rewarding work I’ve done.

I’m currently looking for a new role while working on meeting people in the industry and soaking up wisdom. Very grateful to have found FeverBee.

Introduce yourself (or at least just say hi)
(Sarah Hawk) #2

Welcome Jess.

Wow, that sounds absolutely amazing. Are there any insights that you can share?

(Jess Williams) #3

Thanks for the welcome, Sarah.

Happy to share a little more – I’m a huge advocate of trying new approaches to deeply understand your community. Metrics only tell you so much, and sometimes they are taken out of context by so many people that the true pulse of the community can actually be contradictory to the numbers staff pass around. (X number of members visit the forums each day so we are rocking it!..But how many are truly engaged and actively pushing the business forward?)