Using Facebook groups as a community hub

(Matilda Egere-Cooper) #1

Hello!

I’m a community manager working with a group of bloggers and I recently decided to create a FB group to connect us all. It’s the first time I’ve created this kind of space and I’m really keen to keep to bloggers constantly engaged. Does anyone have any advice for how to go about this?

Member Spotlight: Suzi Barnes talks Facebook Based Communities
Introduce yourself (or at least just say hi)
Facebook Groups for 2018, pros and cons
(Richard Millington) #2

So Facebook groups can be great but you need to hit a critical mass quite quickly to make them work.

Facebook groups have 2 killer features - built in notifications and recommendations. So once you reach a critical mass, the groups started being recommended to other friends with similar interests. That’s a powerful tool. CMX does REALLY well with this.

It also depends if the people you’re trying to reach have a connection to one another. If they don’t, that’s going to make this very difficult.

So the single best piece of advice here is to befriend the people you’re trying to reach and invite them to join the group. Promote it heavily in the beginning. @tag people into discussions to keep them engaged. It takes a lot more drive in the beginning, but pays off at the end.

I’m going to assume you’re on top of the basic community advice - such as fresh content, welcomes, initiating useful discussions etc too :smile:

(Sarah Hawk) #3

Hello @tillycooper. Welcome! Great topic. :smile:

I think you have two things in your favour already – Facebook groups are a fairly easy community nut to crack in that people are already on the platform and ‘in the habit’. And secondly, your audience is a group that spend a lot of time in front of their devices/online already.