Tips on software to use to help manage a community

(Kim Harvey) #1

Hi there,

Just starting out really. I am a freelancer and working with a client on creating a community.

I am very new to this, so my knowledge (and what I say) is very basic and obviously I have a lot to learn!

I am currently looking software to help us to manage the community - high-level needs are:-
•a place to communicate in a closed group
•an area (like a library) for sharing documents
•a place to search and replay videos/webinars

(Happy for input on what else I should really look for too!).

Nice to have
•integration with software to manage memberships
•integration with software to invite to webinars
•integraton with appointment booking software
•integration with Mailchimp/Insightly

Looking forward to any tips to help me start out.

(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hi @kimharvey
A couple of questions to narrow down the field.
What is your budget (both to set up and ongoing) and do you have any technical resource in house?

(Darren McKay) #3

I just watched @richard_millington’s MozCon talk about launching an online community (which is what brought me here) and I was interested when he covered community platforms. My interest heightened when all of the platforms I am aware of received no mention at all.

Now, I’m very much from what Richard referred to as the ‘hobbyist’ sphere. I administer a community with 22,000 registered members and 7m posts in over 300,000 threads. We typically serve 4-5m page views to c200,000 users every month.

The software I am familiar with is the likes of vBulletin and Xenforo. Maybe they are considered a bit old-school now but they are easily deployable, highly flexible and scalable. As such, if I were to be launching something new (and I’m having thoughts, which is why I watched Richard’s talk) then these packages would be my first port of call, especially given the apparent cost of the modern funky alternatives that Richard detailed.

(Sarah Hawk) #4