Strategies for getting started

(JoeBuhlig) #1

I’m really new to community leadership and seeking some advice for acquiring some early adopters in a forum I recently launched. I have two but one of those is geared towards an audience I already had and it took off immediately. The other is a different story.

My initial strategy has been to create new topics that expound on an article I’ve found in the industry (agriculture in the US) and then share it via social. I’m always sure to tag the original author in the posts to let them know about the free publicity. But this hasn’t had much success.

What other strategies have you used to find those first users and get going?

Founding members and getting the word out
Starting a brand new community? This topic is for you
(Sarah Hawk) #2

Great topic.

You’ll find some good resources here – most specifically the article about finding your founding members.

Essentially you need to build a list of 50-150 relevant people, and start working hard to create relationships with them. Once they trust you, invite them to the community as a founding member.

I launched the UX Mastery community from scratch a couple of years ago. We already had a solid social media following and a mailing list. I reached out to ~50 of those people personally (ones that had crossed my path enough that I felt I had a relationship with them) and invited them to join. I then sent out ~5k emails to our list, and pushed via social media. That worked well, and the community continues to grow. The trick was engaging and retaining those initial people with whom I had the relationship in the first place. Once we had our first 50 engaged users, I created a group called Founding Members, which created a strong sense of pride and they worked really hard towards the survival of the community.