SEO collapse resulting from a platform migration

(James Higginson) #1

I’m no expert, as I understand it, keeping our url structure identical will maintain the current SEO position as it will only be seen as a theme change. Am I being naive? Is there more to it than that?!

So, what are you working on?
(Bas van Leeuwen) #2

If you can keep the URLs the same, that would do wonders yes.
Another possibility is to keep the old URLs, but try to map them to new ones with 301 redirects. That should not have a significant impact as well, with the added benefit that you might be able to get a more modern URL structure in place.

(James Higginson) #3

That’s good to know, thanks!

(Bas van Leeuwen) #4

For a longer (LONG!) read: https://moz.com/blog/web-site-migration-guide-tips-for-seos

(Sarah Hawk) #5

That should be absolutely fine. We were forced to do redirects because we changed platforms.

[quote=“Bas_van_Leeuwen, post:214, topic:1328”]
Another possibility is to keep the old URLs, but try to map them to new ones with 301 redirects. That should not have a significant impact as well, with the added benefit that you might be able to get a more modern URL structure in place.
[/quote] That’s what we did. It didn’t work out so well. We’re still not completely sure why not. The Pageviews graph below starts the month before we migrated and goes through to today.

(Bas van Leeuwen) #6

Interesting stats @hawk
Two things to keep in mind (scratch that, more than two, got sidetracked)

• pageviews isn’t all. Discourse has a better navigation structure, you don’t need to visit subforums to view posts for example. A better metric would be (unique) visits
  • I seem to recall that there were quite some issues with the launch and the redirect not working; this might have heavily influenced the rankings.
  • CGeek was mostly closed, so how much did google index?
  • You moved the forums to a new domain, probably also did some temporary damage