Re-engaging a new community

engagement
challenges

(Nigel Amyes) #1

Hello from Sydney Australia!

I’m so happy I’ve found this community, I have recently been given the title of ‘Community Manager’ for a new government online community and have NO IDEA how I’m going to turn this little project around, or even where to start! It’s literally like a tangled fishing line has been handed to me (complete with 4,252 un-engaged and certainly not active members) to sort out and get on the straight and narrow.

My directors have little to no knowledge of how online communities work… except that they need someone to run it all, oh and that they want it to start generating revenue ASAP. You can imagine my joy when I discovered that there is a whole community of community managers that know what they are talking about!

It’s gonna be a learning curve to say the least but a challenge I’m up for! Hopefully I can contribute something here along the way… even though I’m an absolute beginner, yes there will likely be a TON of questions from me!

Looking forward to learning and growing with you all.

Cheers!

First time here? Welcome!
Questions to ask a fledgling community
(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hello! I’m just over the ditch in Auckland, and @phil has recently landed on your shores. Nice to have someone in my timezone for a change!

Love it. Glad you found us. What is the biggest stress right now? Do you know what the primary goal of the community is? How are they hoping you’ll generate revenue?

(Nigel Amyes) #3

Thanks for the welcome @HAWK nice to know you’re more or less local! I’m originally from Dunedin :slight_smile:

To answer your questions, hopefully, the community is actually part of an events company so the revenue generation will be through selling tickets to the events and training we offer as well as the obvious dollars that can be made by offering sponsors access to a captive government audience.