New Homepage - Your Thoughts

challenges

(Richard Millington) #1

Hey everyone,

As you’ve seen we launched our new homepage this week. We’re not promoting it widely yet, but would love your thoughts on it - especially if you spot any bugs.

We’re hoping it helps people find useful content much quicker than the old site. It shouldn’t affect anything in this community yet though.

[20 March] What are you working on this week?
Homepage
(JoeBuhlig) #2

Love it! Well done, team. As a web developer I can appreciate a well done homepage.

For bugs, I only noticed two and they were on an iPhone 6s running Safari.

1. The sign up form has hard corners and needs some spacing between the button itself.

2. This might be nit-picky but I usually try to take advantage of the edges of the screen when it shrinks so that it doesn’t end up being a super long page. There are a few sections where there’s a fair amount of blank space around the edges. Sometimes designers like it but it can add to the amount of required scrolling on a page.

That’s all I found. Again, well done. I’m a fan. :wink:

(Gear Buzz) #3

(Mobile) How do you get to the home page from the forum index?

(Sarah Hawk) #4

I used to have a HOME link there. I’m not sure where that’s gone! I’ll get it sorted today.
(It must have been missing for a while so is unrelated to this new home page.)

(Dan Hinmon) #5

I like the look and feel. Call to action is strong. I’m surprised that you feature only blogposts on the home page. Why not discussion activity? Upcoming events? Afraid ithey will interfere with your #1 call to action?

(Richard Millington) #6

Discussion activity is on there, it’s just much lower down. We didn’t have much evidence that the discussion activity was being clicked on in the former version of the site so we put it a little lower down.

(Dan Hinmon) #7

Oh funny. When I got to that dark blue bar it looked like a footer and I stopped scrolling. Missed about 75% of the home page. UX!

(Sarah Hawk) #8