Member Spotlight: Rebecca Braglio talks ambassador programs

spotlight
reading

(Sarah Hawk) #1

There have been numerous questions about ambassadors or community champions over the last year, so I chased down the amazing @rebeccabraglio who has designed and implemented several successful programs. She has shared some great lessons learned, tips and best of all – templates!

The Interview

Hawk: Can you give us a brief bio and history of your community career?

RB: I majored in psychology and practiced as a criminal defense attorney specializing in people with mental illness who were accused of major felony offenses. I did that for about 12 years, but I burned out early…but I resigned myself to the fact that this was the path I’d chosen and I’d probably never be able to switch careers.

Then I got a dog named Dash - who changed everything. He had some behavioral issues, and it inspired me to build a community for dog owners in my city. For the first time in years, I felt energized and my gut told me this could be my way out of the legal field. I read everything I could get my hands on about social media, community, grass-roots marketing, html, etc. About three years later, I stopped practicing law and began building a branded online community for Pet360, Inc.

After I got my feet wet at Pet360, I moved on to the Project Management Institute and was charged with integrating a global member community with a smaller American-based community. This was an incredible challenge as 1) the online communities had incredibly different cultures and 2) I only had a month to create a communication plan for over 500,000 members. It was also daunting to help manage a community where I was not a subject matter expert. During my time at PMI I created a community functionality recommendation list, a content calendar, recommended CHI metrics, and a skeleton outline for an ambassador program.