Member Spotlight: Bas van Leeuwen talks analytics

metrics
spotlight

(Sarah Hawk) #1

In the first of our series of Community Spotlights, I chatted with @Bas_van_Leeuwen. Bas is a Community Manager and founder of Community-Analytics.com and we talked about… analytics!

Hawk: Can you give us a brief bio and history of your community career?
Bas: I started my professional career as a project manager at a software company called Hippo. After a couple of years I became their community manager, which was my intro into this wonderful world.

Now I’m a freelance community manager and co-founder of Community-Analytics.com.

Hawk: What was the driver to launch Community-Analytics.com?
Bas: At Hippo I became frustrated at the lack of measurements that were available for Community Managers – especially for the (gasp) mailing list that I was managing. It was hard to find proper metrics. In the end I jury-rigged a Google Doc that automatically imported my mail. It was messy but it worked.

Later I spoke to an old colleague of mine and we decided we wanted to start a company. Fixing the lack of community analytics seemed like a good initial problem to tackle. :slightly_smiling:

Hawk: Are you wearing pants?
Bas: Yes

Hawk: Community Managers seem to feel the need to measure everything. Is that smart?
Bas: Yes it is smart to measure everything. However, in business (and life) there must always be room for intuition and intellect.

I would approach measuring in one of three ways:

1. Measure the basics, if there is something peculiar, investigate further.

2. Ask yourself a question based on your experience, try to find data to answer that question.

• Do some exploratory analysis (using something like Tableau) and see if something sticks out.

Hawk: It’s not just about ROI, right? What do you measure?
Bas: ROI needs to be measured, yes, but measuring your ROI doesn’t help your community.

I’d try to focus on measuring those things that signal either: