Marketing inside community space

challenges

(Tirza Austin) #1

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I manage an association community for civil engineers. Our community has been active for a year and a half. We are contemplating adding some promotional content to our community (mostly just convention ads at the top of the platform).

There has been some hesitancy from some of our staff about keeping the community a “member only space” (free from advertisements).

I’m wondering if anyone is willing to share pros and cons from personal experience from these two mindsets? Does anyone have any best practices to share on marketing inside the community space?

(Richard Millington) #2

Hi @tirza_austin,

Welcome to the community, glad you found us.

Interesting question this one. I guess my question is why are you trying to do this? What is y our goal here? I think that would help us give a good answer :slight_smile:

(Tirza Austin) #3

Thanks @richard_millington

One of the biggest complaints we get as an organization is members not knowing about benefits or events. We would like to utilize as many avenues as we can to communicate these things with our members without being intrusive (sending to many emails). We see our community platform as another space we should be using to communicate with members.

I’m interested to hear if anyone thinks this violates the community space as well. We are still trying to figure out if this is right for our community.

(Travis King) #4

I’m not sure what platforms you run your community on, but could increasing awareness of events be accomplished without ads? Perhaps a forum or Facebook post about upcoming events? Have users share their experiences about events they’ve attended? Brief recaps of past events or presentations? Your community may find that more helpful and less intrusive than ads that they’ll probably block out after the first day :wink:

(Tirza Austin) #5