Looking for a suitable platform

(Kelly Vo) #1

Hi all,

I’m a very newbie both here and at community platform technologies. I’m looking for an affordable social network platform to use for my community with these needed features:

• Social network
  • Group
  • Forum
  • Private Message
  • Project Management
  • File Sharing
  • Knowledge Base
  • Evaluation
  • Badge, Rank, Point

I’m currently looking at some WordPress themes however it seems to me not offer enough what I need. If you have any advises. I would be very appreciated it!

Have a nice day!

Kelly

(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hi @kelly_vo – that’s a pretty diverse range of features.

Given you’re looking at WP is it safe to assume that you don’t have an enterprise budget?

A good starting point would be the platform comparison tool but I’m suspecting your best option would be an integrated WP/open source community platform solution like the one FeverBee is using here.

(Bart van Bragt) #3

They are all fairly standard community features. But ‘Project Management’ is the odd man out.

Do you really need that integrated with the rest?
Who is your audience? What are your goals?
And of course; what is your budget and can you do tech in-house?

(Kelly Vo) #4

@HAWK At this moment, we are looking for something affordable to test our idea out, since we already have a WP admin in-house so this also could be a leverage for us.

I did try platform comparison tool but I still haven’t found anything good so far. Thank you very much for the advises, I also think it would be our way to go in this situation.

@bartvb For your questions:

• Yes, we will want it to be integrated if needed
  • Our primary audience is university student and our goal is to create a social network/community where students can communicate, engage, learn and develop themselves by working on tasks or projects.
  • We have a WP person in-house but not so advanced level.