Is community manager a full-time job?

(Nick Ivanter) #1

I’m a small business owner and just happen to manage our online community as it’s usually the case that small business owners begin by doing all things by themselves. Now we are reaching the point where I believe it would make sense to hire someone else to manage our community, and I’m wondering if I should necessarily look for a full-time person. I understand that full-time is preferred (it’s always better to have someone focused on a single objective), but there are financial considerations and also I don’t want for the person to get bored if there is simply not enough work to do.

So, I’m wondering if there is an established consensus on what scale of a community warrants a full-time manager.

(Sarah Hawk) #2

I’m not sure that there is an established consensus.

I think a lot of it depends on the size and nature of the community, whether you want growth, and what tasks the role entails.

Given that the community is already established, then part-time is feasible. I manage a community on a part time basis (15 hours per week) which works ok, although we’re lucky to have good organic growth and I don’t have time outside of engagement / moderation / events to write content or do much site customisation.

I also think that the market for junior/mid-level freelance remote jobs is healthy, so you shouldn’t have trouble finding someone.

How much time do you currently spend on community related tasks?

(Nick Ivanter) #3

I’m spending very little time (maybe 1 hour a day) but I’m doing next to nothing on the forum these days. I view the online community as an asset for our company and believe that it could use more pro-active management and grow as a result.

I don’t envision site customization as part of the role, but prompting engagement / moderation / curating content is what I’d like the CM to do.

(Sarah Hawk) #4