Is an overactive ambassador a problem?

(Gerdi Zarza) #1

Hi there,
I have a question, I know that there are allways the lurking members, de occasional reactors and the really active members. In our community thats build around healthcare professionals I have a very committed ambassador, he reacts very often/quick, starts a topic every now and then en loves being around the community very much. I am very happy with him. The issue is that maybe it influences the activity of the other members because he reacts first very often, and the same people will interact in the discussions… What are your thoughts on how to manage these habits? Should I interfere or just leave it be…?

Greetings from Holland,
Gerdi Zarza

(Robert McIntosh) #2

Very good question - I had similar issues

In the first instance, it is a good thing. What you need are more people like him, so the objective is not to hold him back, but to attract others who are like him.

If, as you say, he enjoys the community - and not just the personal attention (as someone else was struggling with) he will completely understand if you contact him to discuss this issue. By involving him in an informal ambassador / moderator / community-builder role you have the opportunity to make him even more committed, but possibly also more constructive.

I would contact him, explain that the community will be healthier (!) if TOGETHER you can encourage more people to participate and that maybe he could refrain from posting on occasion to give space for others to comment.

The most eager members, and staff, need to take a moment to ‘stand back’ and be ‘active’ not just in speaking/participating, but in encouraging others to speak and participate. I suspect he doesn’t see the issue, and by pointing it out, you can get him onside.