Ideas on analyzing sentiments

(Marine Maupin) #1

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forum but I have been reading a lot of it and trust you guys have plenty of good ideas. I’ve started thinking about anylising the sentiments of members rather than only looking at the amount of posts they create, I’m curious to find out what you guys are already doing and what you think! :slight_smile:

(Richard Millington) #2

Hi Marine,

Welcome and thanks for joining us. I’m a big fan of Robin and the insided gang.

Can you add a little more context here? What are you trying to uncover? What sentiments are you looking for? What’s the goal?

(christopher w) #3

Hi @Marine,

There are various cloud products available that can evaluate sentiment on social networks, blogs, websites, forums and so on.

They work by searching target urls for user entered keywords, example: VW Emissions, and reporting back on specific comments or general sentiment associated with that key word.

Governments, brands and PR agencies, amongst others, are keen users of this technology, with brands in particular reaching out to the most damaging individuals in an attempt to influence their public statements - free car service, product discount, vouchers and so on.

Microsoft have a very good product called Social CRM/Social Listening which is part of their cloud CRM offering - the following video gives you a good idea of its capabilities:

There are other options available too and searching the web for sentiment analysis will bring up a list of alternatives.