How to get interviews from experts

(Walter Bradly) #1

For my community, I’ve started an interview series with experts in the field. I know some of these experts personally, but I’m also interested in interviewing people who I don’t know. I’ve done similar things before, but since reading the feverbee blog I’ve become more concerned with making sure that I’m persuasive when I invite people to participate in an interview.

I was wondering if any of you have done something similar, and if you have any examples of emails/letters inviting people to participate in an interview that were particularly persuasive.

Thanks!

(Duncan Field) #2

Hi Walter,

I have some experience with this - as a freelancer I built my own website to host essays and interviews, and as you can imagine getting authors and musicians to participate in interviews with somebody unknown was sometimes difficult. I will dig up some examples.

(Sarah Hawk) #3

Hi @Othello, I can help here too.

I’ve been running experts Q&As for a few years and I’ve honed my invitations over that time.
A few things that I’ve learned to include in the invitation:

• How I know them (“my colleague speaks highly of you”, “I saw you speak at [conference]”) and why I want them (“your message resonates with our audience”, “I believe you have real value to add”, “I think we could learn a lot from you”)
  • Clear direction around topic, session format, what is involved, and links to past sessions for reference
  • The value proposition (what will they get out of it?) i.e. the opportunity to self-promote
  • An info sheet with details of the session logistics (attached below)

ATU - Important tips for guest hosts.pdf (171.6 KB)

(Walter Bradly) #4

That’s a great idea! I’ll have to try it.

Would it be possible to quote one or two of the emails you’ve used?

(Duncan Field) #5

Walter,