Going from Community Moderator to Community Manager

challenges

(Mohamed Mohammed) #1

Hi, there!

My name is Mohamed and I’m a community moderator with a social media platform called Campus Society. It’s designed as a space for university students - incoming freshmen and those that are on their way out + plus everything in between. I have been working as a community moderator there for about 10 months now, helping to moderate the content, help to onboard users, and general user/ community support.

I have been getting more and more fascinated with the work of a community manager. I work with a team that includes community managers, a head of community, a support lead, and of course, other mods. As a result, the work of managing a community in and of itself has interested me. I am a university student myself and have one year left. I’m wondering about making the jump from moderation to management and what that sort of thing would take?

Of course, I will also be asking my coworkers about this - they’re really lovely and supportive. I also thought I’d post on here since I’ll be coming back to Feverbee regularly anyhow.

Thanks in advance for any help/ insight you can provide!

-Mohamed

(Travis King) #2

Sounds like you’re on the right path with asking your coworkers and continuing to expand your knowledge about community management. Make sure you spend time learning about tracking and showing ROI. It’s one of the most difficult things to do with community management so knowing about it will definitely give you a leg up.

Making the jump from moderation to a community team is also very possible. We’ve hired on several past Mods :smiley:

(Mohamed Mohammed) #3

Much appreciated, Travis :slight_smile: I’m really looking forward to the next few months of just catching up with concepts such as the one you’ve mentioned. From what I’m reading, showing ROI is definitely a struggle lol.