Getting members to use a community for support

(Jebby Joseph) #1

I work as an operations manager in South Africa, and I manage a specific
web based product.

Recently we launched a community to provide our users with a full knowledge
base that consists of webinars, FAQ, guides, videos etc.

We are struggling to get our users to visit and utilize the material that
is provided. Instead we are finding that users are still calling into our
call centre for support.

I have just started reading the buzzing communities book, and i have
realised that one major difference between our community and the ones
described in the book is that we don’t allow members to communicate with
each other.

I am trying to research possible methods to encourage our users to utilize
our community more - and this is what brought me to FeverBee.

(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hi Jebby,
Great to hear from you.

That’s interesting. What is the rationale behind the decision? When members can’t communicate with each other we tend to think of them as an audience, rather than a community. The motivations for belonging are different.

(Jebby Joseph) #3

Hi Sarah

Our customers use our product to request third party information from
different institutions across the country.

The response time varies from 5 to 15 days from the different institutions.

The reason we didn’t want our users to communicate with each other on the
Community is because we didn’t want users to post their response times on
the Community.

Our fear was that there would be discord if users realised that some users
may be receiving information quicker than other users.

Our product pricing was also initially an issue for the South African
market,so we didn’t want users to discuss the pricing in case there were
any negative sentiments.

(Richard Millington) #4