Focus groups on Facebook - Why don't women engage?

engagement

(Sharon Nyangweso) #1

Hello everyone,

I’m a little new to FeverBee. I manage a community of young driven E.Africans who are really eager to change their lives and their communities with social entrepreneurship, entrepreneurship and ICT. I’ve noticed (and the research reaffirms my findings) that young women from the region don’t engage in conversations online. We know that it is a mix of structural and societal factors at high level (access to tech, time spent doing domestic work etc.) that keeps them from engaging. However, I am working on leading a focus group, survey and open discussion on my Facebook community and I was wondering if anyone had thoughts about how to get well thought out answers, and to not have the conversation dominated by male participants.

(Sarah Hawk) #2

Welcome! Good on you for jumping straight in. We really respect that.

I confess to having no experience in this area, but I’m going to see if I can find someone who does. Bear with me.

In the mean time, is it feasible to talk to some of the women personally to find out what the potential barriers to engagement are? Or creating a safe place for them only to interact in while they build confidence and habit?

(Sharon Nyangweso) #3

Hi @HAWK! So that is the direction I’m going in right now. I’m building out a work plan that’s going to create a small (20 women) focus group (FB group chat) and ask them a serious of question that would allow me to build out my answer in a really focused way. I’m also going to use the answers as a jump off to formulate a smaller set of questions to pose to the greater community (men and women). If done well and I get well thought out answers I think my results could be a really useful tool to community managers who work in E. Africa. Thanks so much for responding!

(Bo McGuffee) #4