First connections with potential community founders

(Marcela Donatello) #1

Hello, everybody!

I was talking about my current challenges building a community and @HAWK suggested this might be an interesting subject for a new topic. Maybe others have the same doubts I have… so, here it is:

I’ve just started in a new job and my challenge at the moment is to build a travellers community. I have a great potential founders list and I’ve studied all the theory (including The Proven Path), but I am struggling a little bit with the first interactions since I am also new in this industry and don’t have many connections. Could you tell me how do you usually roll with this? Saying you’d be approaching bloggers, do you drop an email or start with twitter interactions, blog comments, etc? Is the second option really effective? 'Cause it feels I’m getting nowhere. I guess what I wonder is if bloggers will take the time to talk to me, if I don’t drop the potential advantages for them right away. It might be a cultural thing (I’m brazilian) but I have a hard time connecting to people without anything to offer (now at least) and having an agenda behind this interactions. I want it to be and feel genuine for everybody involved and I know people could take value from the community we are building, but at this moment I almost feel like I’m asking for favors or trying to take advantage. Ugh! Can you tell me your experience with this?
Thank you so much! I’m looking forward to learning from you!

So, what are you working on?
Strategies for getting started
(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hi Marcela.

Great questions.

I have a few clarifying questions of my own first:
Does the community actually exist yet, or are you still in the planning stages? What structure does it take? Do you have a content platform and associated community?