Facebook Groups for 2018, pros and cons

(Griff Wigley) #1

I’ve been an admin of a moderately busy Facebook Group for 18 months (hobbyist topic: learning mountain biking skills). I’ve been happy with my decision to launch my community there, as it’s grown to nearly 3,000 members with about 2K ‘engaged’ each month.

But I’m now preparing to move the community to an independent platform (eg. open source Discourse). I posted this as one of my Community Goals for 2018. And then @richard_millington wrote:

I’ve been interested to see if facebook’s work on groups might mean less people move across. What are your main reasons to move?

It seemed like a good idea to devote a new topic to the issue, as I’m eager to get input from others on this. He agreed and so here we go!

(Griff Wigley) #2

First off, you might be wondering what features Facebook has added to its Groups platform recently. Here’s their summary from Oct, 2017:

And here’s another person’s summary of those changes:

(Griff Wigley) #3

All those new features are indeed helpful and well-implemented. I’ve been paying for a monthly membership to Grytics for analytics on my Group but FB’s implementation of Group Insights is pretty good and might be enough for most admins.

One of the MOST helpful things that FB did in the first year of my Group was to automatically refer new people – mountain bikers – to my Closed Group for me to consider admitting. They did this via their right sidebar automated display of five “Suggested Groups” to users based on their analysis of those users’ interests. Many days I would get a dozen or more requests to be added, allowing me to give priority admission to women mountain bikers (part of my initial ‘culture’ strategy).

They stopped the practice a few months ago. I have no idea why. But I was happy for the help in growing the group.

(Griff Wigley) #4