Engaging gamers and determining KPIs

engagement

(Cedric Debono) #1

Hi all!

My name is Cedric and I’m the international community manager for Tanki Online, a MMO game with tanks. I’ve been there for 1 year now, but I feel like I’ve only just started scratching the surface, and that I really need to step up my game as CM, which is why I’ve been looking for a solid community like this one.

I’m looking forward to learning and sharing.

I’m also a freelance direct-response copywriter, and I worked as a TV producer for a number of years on Malta’s national TV station, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to contribute to our community within those fields.

If you have any questions, do reach out! I’ll be happy to reply :slight_smile:

First time here? Welcome!
(Sarah Hawk) #2

Hey Cedric,
Welcome – great to hear from you. We have a few members here from established gaming communities, so you’ll be in good company. Are you facing any particular challenges at the moment?

(Cedric Debono) #3

That’s great news :slight_smile:

Well, my biggest challenge right now is defining the real KPIs that determine whether I’m doing a good job or not as a CM. I mean, judging by how the community responds and interacts with me, it looks like the it’s doing great, and I do track google analytics, FB insights and forum numbers, but the tough part is learning how to bring everything together into one coherent picture.

The big question is, “If my boss were to call me tomorrow and fire me with the accusation of incompetence, what is the one thing that would prove his judgement wrong?” Not that that’s gonna happen, mind you. I know for a fact that my boss is VERY happy with the work I’m doing, because he tells me on a daily basis. But still, the question begs for an answer. And I think it’s a question ALL OF US should be able to answer.

(Richard Millington) #4

If that happens you’re probably doomed regardless of what you say :slight_smile: