Does anyone have insight in to Vanilla Cloud vs Open Source?

Hi. i am new to all of this. After seeing Richard speak at Turingfest the company I work for, a small-ish B2B SaaS, is starting a community for our customers. we already have a really busy and active facebook group but it’s time to move up!
We have been through lots of demos and whatnot and finally made a decision to go for Vanilla then at the last second one of our devs suggested that we use the Open Source instead of Cloud. We have in-house devs so that part of the effort is not a problem to us but what I am trying to understand is what we would lack using Open Source instead of paying for the Cloud version. We are aware that the support is very different but is any specific functionality missing?
It’s a huge decision for us to make and we don’t want to get this wrong.
Thanks for any advice!
Eleanor

Hi @eleanor_freetobook,

I work at Vanilla, and have been using the open source and the cloud version for a long time (before I worked here). It really gets down to your objectives. The open source is a solid platform for a basic forum. If you need additional business integrations such as Salesforce, Github, Linkedin, ect then this is NOT something offered in the open source. I add as well, the search appliance we have on the cloud version is also something not included with the open source. You can roll your own, but it will be DIY. Otherwise you have the default search.

I know you mention support differences, but it’s also much more that you give up going alone - besides support. This is not to say open source can’t be used. I know for example LG used it for many years (and I believe still does), as do many many communities. Over 1 million downloads so far and counting :stuck_out_tongue: