Discourse users – what is missing from your Admin dashboard

challenges

(Sarah Hawk) #1

One of my first projects at Discourse is the redesign of the Admin dashboard. At present it’s suboptimal – it’s less of a dashboard and more of an afterthought.

What features would be included in your oh-my-god-this-is-the-best-community-dashboard-ever dashboard?

What info do you want to get at a glance?

Pinging
@thirstforwine @ingridp @JoelZaslofsky @garthus @Travis @dun3buggi3 @tophee @ale_fattorini @evgeny and anyone else using Discourse

How to group content, prevent large topics?
(Ingrid Peters) #2

Hi Sarah,

How was your first week at Discourse? Good to have you ‘back’ here!

As you know I am new to community management and also to Discourse. My first impression of the dashboard was one of being confused about what the different stats mean and if I really need all of this information. Also how are the numbers calculated? For example, I spend two hours yesterday with two moderators testing the system. On my dashboard it shows 589 total page views. I guess this means all the different pages incl. the admin pages we visited. I am just wondering if this info is relevant for a dashboard? Would love to hear your thoughts on this.

I guess I would be looking for stats like top contributors, or members that spend a lot of time reading. Instead of getting just the numbers I would expect to also get the user name. So not just ‘new user = 5’, but have a click through to their accounts.

Hope this helps! :wink:

(Robert McIntosh) #3

Ooh, wow. BIG question. I’ll try to put down some thoughts in some degree of order.

Hope the new job is everything you hoped it would be :slight_smile:

(tophee) #4

By “Dashboard”, do you mean strictly admin/or anything that has admin/ in itsburl?

Three things come to mind spontaneously:

1. Really minor, but anyway: I’d like to sort users by “last emailed”