Coming up with a community strategy after three years of procrastinating

(James McMahon) #1

Tl;dr: I have a community oriented project, defined goals (perhaps too many) and need some guidance on what the next steps should be to move this project forward. I’m also concerned that the user experience on the site is not quite up to the job of even rudimentary community discussions.

Website: www.kartpulse.com (feel free to kick the tires with the signup process)
Facebook page: facebook.com/kartpulse

Hey guys. I’m not a community professional, but I’ve always been heavily engaged with community in one sense or another and fascinated by it’s ability to impact people’s lives in some way. Sometimes big, sometimes small.

I’d like to share my project with you and get your thoughts on it. I think you’ll find it interesting.
A big passion of mine is auto racing (motorsport for those those east of the atlantic). Specifically kart racing. I’ve always tried in some way to help more people enjoy this sport.

About three years ago I got a little (lot) more serious (or at least focused and objective) about it and started “a thing” called KartPulse.

This was sparked off when a major player in this space essentially threw out the community with the bathwater with a website update that turned off their old phpbb install which contained accumulated 15 or so years of insights, tips and discussions. Then, when called out on it, their response was basically “Pound sand, the forums were (and are) free, this is our business and we will do as we see fit”

I was amazed and pretty pissed off that there was no value seen in the community that had been built on the site. Also, the “update” was pretty self serving. It provided the same content (race report) but nothing of real value to help people get racing, help businesses find customers etc etc. Nothing that was going to really grow the sport, at least in my opinion.