Business goals vs Community engagement in a Support Community

Hey folks :wave:

I’m a Community Manager a SaaS product and we’re still pretty new (soft launch in September).

Our business goals are to deflect a certain % of tickets from the Support Team, which we’re hitting comfortably, but I’m worried that it’s at the expense of more genuine engagement.

It feels like the majority of new members come in, ask the questions and then disappear. We have Experts who answer questions and are doing ok keeping them engaged, but I was wondering if anyone had tips for encouraging those folks who only join to ask one question to stay and read more topics/post/etc.

Things we’re doing currently:

• AMA’s with important team members
  • A Tips and inspiration section where we post ideas or invite users to share tips
  • Product announcements
1 Like

For a case like this, I’d look for ways to build an “identity” into the community, shifting your members’ mindset from “I need help with this question” to more of “this is my place.” Could be the name of the community, could be a special name for the members as a group, could be personality, but I see this as more of a philosophical challenge than a feature challenge. You need to find ways to build in your community as part of your members’ routine…so they’re getting some ongoing dopamine from it.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply, @rhogroupee! That’s definitely the direction that I’d like to take things in.

I think that the challenge that I’m feeling is how to capture that for folks when they are primarily coming to the community with the goal of getting their question answered. IE how do provide enough of a sense of belonging to hook them in when they might only visit once, and with a specific goal in mind?