Best Advice for Managing Up & Setting Expectations For a Community Launch

I was just talking with @richard_millington on LinkedIn and realized I should put my question to the whole community of pros here.

How did you set expectations and manage up leading up to the launch of your community?

And is there anything you wish you’d done differently?

I’d love any guidance or experiences you can share, but here’s my specific scenario right now, in case context helps:

We’re a niche media company, built for sales professionals.

1. Leadership team (LT) asks for a community in 3 months.

2. Not knowing if that’s a crazy timeline or not, I immediately begin researching what it will take to build the community the right way.

3. Before I have a complete project plan, let alone desired features or a community purpose, LT asks which platform I’m going to choose, and again asks for launch within 3 months.

I have yet to set expectations correctly because I’m still learning myself what it’s going to take to do this right.

I do know that I need to:
*Speak with stakeholders
*Do a competitive analysis
*Survey and interview our subscribers
*Develop a stragegy and community values
*Decide what features I’d want available in the community
*Choose a platform
*Hire somebody to build the dang thing
*Prepare for launch and communicate the plan to beta users/chamions
*Moderate and iterate