[Article] Breeding and breaking cultures of contempt

(Sarah Hawk) #1

I’ve just finished reading this article: http://blog.aurynn.com/86/contempt-culture

I highly recommend taking 10 mins to read it if you’re interested in how cultures of contempt are bred and sustained within communities.

It’s a reflective piece that examines our self-taught narratives and what can happen if we are critical of the narratives of others – making people feel unsafe to talk about their own achievements and successes.

I think it can happen very easily within communities – on both individual and group levels – without people realising.

(Bo McGuffee) #2

Excellent article!

So when I started programming in 2001, it was du jour in the communities I participated in to be highly critical of other languages. Other languages sucked, the people using them were losers or stupid, if they would just use a real language, such as the one we used, everything would just be better.

Imo, this is exactly the problem with insider/outsider language. When we turn a group of people on the outside into an “enemy” we are are leveraging the power of dehumanization to increase a sense of identity and belonging. This is incredibly effective. It’s also incredibly dangerous. As the us-vs-them mindset continues, the community can become more toxic as those who are not interested in such dynamics leave and those who embrace it thrive. It is indeed possible for those on the inside of a community to feel special and empowered without disparaging those who don’t fit in.

(Sarah Hawk) #3

I think the scary thing is how often it happens without people even realising.

For instance, I had an email a while back from someone asking what B2B and B2C means in a community context. Those are acronyms that we throw around a lot here and it never occurred to me that they might make someone feel excluded (the person in question is intelligent, well read, and experienced in community practice and philosophy).