Alternative title to Community Manager?

(Mohammed Rafy) #1

[Closing the loop] I chose “Head - Community” as the signature because it covers all the posts we mentioned like Community manager, advocate and other stuff.

Hey all,

I work as a community manager with a developer community and I use Community Manager in the email signature. I’m getting my business card printed and I wanted to check if there are any other designations in the same area.

According to some people in the tech field and developers, they say MANAGER is not a good option to add and they don’t like it. It’s up to them, though.

Architect? Advocate? Sounds nice!

What is the other designation you guys use?

Coming up with job titles that describe AND recruit
(Finman) #2

Community Lead? or Leader?

(Bas van Leeuwen) #3

Depends on the community.
If you have a small, tech-mindede, informal type of community, I think you could do worse than ‘Community Guy’ :slight_smile:

(Mohammed Rafy) #4

Might work. Community Lead.

(Mohammed Rafy) #5

It’s a community with good no of users. IMHO, community guy isn’t that cool though.

(Nick Emmett) #6

I guess it depends what you want people to know about what it is you do? How does the term relate to your role itself? Do you work just within the forums, replying etc or do you have a wider reach, managing internal relations, the business integration, platform roadmap etc?

(Richard Millington) #7

Think @jake_mckee might’ve trade-marked that…

(Nikoletta Harrold) #8

Not sure if these will help, but this is the list of job titles we got reported on our salary survey in North America.

(Mohammed Rafy) #9

This list is interesting. Thanks.

(Janet Swisher) #10

Maybe this is a bit pretentious, but I’ve been using “Community Strategist”.

(Sarah Hawk) #11

I don’t think it is – I really like it because I think it’s descriptive.

To me it implies that you do less of the day to day tactical stuff and more of the big picture planning.

(Melissa Jenkins) #12