Advice on setting up a blog/website/forum

(Keely Maitland) #1

Continuing the discussion from So, what are you working on?:

Thanks for the advice @HAWK. I agree and am steering away from LinkedIn. I like the idea of having an integrated blog-website-forum where the member could login once and post to the forum and comment on the blog. I believe that this can be done with Wordpress and Discourse but I’m nervous about both of these because I’m not a coder and aren’t sure how tech savvy I’d need to be to achieve this. I’m also confused about the different types of Wordpress and Discourse and all the plug-ins and options available.

Any advice on how easy it would be for me to achieve the above, if this is the best way, if I should just keep the blog and forum separate for now or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

(Sarah Hawk) #2

You are right. It can be done using WP and Discourse (as we do here) but SSO (single sign on) is definitely something that you won’t be able to do yourself if you have no tech ability. Standing alone they are cheap and easy to set up with very little (or even no) tech ability, but once you go down the SSO/integration road you need help. We can help you with that, but when you get to that level of integration you’d need to make a financial investment (a platform like ours would cost tens of thousands if you outsourced it).

[quote=“keelym, post:1, topic:1169”]
I’m also confused about the different types of Wordpress and Discourse and all the plug-ins and options available.
[/quote] There is essentially one type of WordPress and one type of Discourse, but multitudes of plugins for both.
For instance, on this platform we use a plugin that connects the two commenting systems, one to handle the SSO, one to manage the membership system, one for the shop, and SEO plugin, a username changer, and the list goes on.